Waiting For the Deadline


Did you see my thinking cap? It must be lying here somewhere. I have been looking for it for weeks now but it seems like it is eluding me.

Last Tuesday morning, I made a list of all the things I expected to accomplish during the long APEC Summit Holiday. Now three days have passed and the list remains the same — no entry is yet crossed.

best-fiction-writing-to-do-funny-ecard-noz

Instead, here are the things I did for the past three days:

  1. watched Romeo and Juliet three times (once each day, starting Tuesday);

Romeo_and_Juliet_2013_film

  1. recited Juliet’s monologue in the famous balcony scene again and again in the shower (because I can’t sing);

tumblr_mtnltljbwh1qccbedo6_2501

  1. started reading Anna Karenina (I need to read the book before I watch the film adaptation);

1521

  1. memorized Pablo Neruda’s The Queen (how I wish I were that queen!);

1e32d7d49b74d96237a57d9488c32f38

  1. played with my hair by putting it up in foam rollers as I watched Britney Spears’ music videos (and I remembered how I fell in love with dancing because of her);

rs_500x284-131202140136-rs_500x284-130905114118-tumblr_lv7dd0hk591r1aox2o1_500

  1. tried to replicate Britney’s parts in Me Against the Music while in the shower (even the speaking voice gets tired and yes, I take looooong showers);

rs_500x266-130905114117-tumblr_lioky7mjdt1qcxnhlo1_500

  1. and currently, writing this rambling post.

And you know what’s horrible about all this? It is the fact that I feel not even an ounce of guilt for my indolence. It seems that I truly believe that my excuses are valid reasons.

Not in the mood, not in the right condition, not the right weather, not the right pen, and the list goes on. Mere excuses, all lies.

It is not that I am not trying. On Thursday morning I actually managed to get out of bed at 3 A.M. to start studying for two upcoming exams. But after the ceremonial cup of coffee, I found myself scribbling about random things that seem to pop out of my head endlessly and the next thing I know, it was lunch time.

2fb5a3b196fa10ceb074f1d4a57ba21f

I know what is wrong — I am not interested in what is in my to-do list. That is why I always find a way to evade it. Maybe if my to-do list includes more of literature and history instead of studying hefty science books, I would have been halfway through it now. Or I maybe even finished by now. Nature versus nurture must really be the recurring theme of my dear life.

Hoping that Saturday morning will see more light as Monday approaches. As always, my thinking cap magically appears when the deadline looms. Deadlines are my lifeline.

50a10889c96209bfba972eedc0aa638f

Wish me luck!

 

Author: Aira Mallapre

Aira, a dreamer by day and crammer by night, has been singing out of tune since 1995.

Leave a Reply

