To 16-Year-Old Me


Dear 16-year-old me,

Drop that razor down.

You have a great life ahead of you. Don’t you ever think of wasting it. But if you must cry, go on then. Tears don’t hurt. Let them heal you, at least for the time being.

Honestly, I am not sure how great life will be. I am still trying to figure it out. But don’t you worry because I’m doing everything I can to make it a happy life. But I will need you to cooperate. So can you promise me you will never ever think about doing that again?

I won’t lie to you — life is still pretty tough. I am still clueless of what and who I should be. But life is beautiful. Sometimes, witnessing its beauty is enough to sustain you. There is so much beauty in the world that you can’t afford not to see enough of it. So hold on to whatever scrap of hope is left in you. That hope will sustain you until the world reveals its sheer magnificence to you. Then that will give you something to love and look forward to, something to live for.

I know you have a lot of questions about your identity and your future. I know some of the answers now but I can’t tell you. You will find the answers yourself in due time. They may not come easily and they may sometimes hurt but I know you have enough courage in your poor heart to deal with it. Trust me because I should know — I made it this far. So hold on, will you? It will be okay. You will be okay.

Happy birthday, dear. There will be many more to come.

With so much love,
21-year-old you

P.S. Enjoy that ube cake. That might be your last.

Author: Aira Mallapre

Aira, a dreamer by day and crammer by night, has been singing out of tune since 1995.

3 thoughts on “To 16-Year-Old Me”

Leave a Reply

