Update: Busy living the dream


Looks like my college memoir project has to wait. I am so sorry (is anyone even interested in finishing it, except for me?). But I have some good news though — I recently joined the work force! Finally. And it gets better — I am living the dream (insert silent kilig scream here).

Yes, the dream (nope, not writing). The one I have been imagining since I was ten years old. I am really now a teacher.

No one has any idea how happy I am now. I still do have a lot to learn and I always end the day feeling really tired but still, I am always excited to get up the next morning. It just feels too good to be true that sometimes, I wonder if the giddiness will ever wear off. I hope not for this is the best feeling I have ever been blessed with (yes, it is even more than love).

There are times though when I get frustrated by my relative inexperience whenever I see my students struggling to understand me. Each time a student raises a hand to tell me that I am using too complicated words or whenever they would look at me blankly as if I am talking alienese, I want to cry. But at the end of the meeting, when they say, “See you tomorrow, teacher!” or when I see them somewhere else and they run towards me just to say hello, I feel grateful to be given the chance to be their teacher. But sometimes, I still think, I am good enough for these kids? With their smiles, it feels like they are telling me, You’re not perfect but yes, you are.

It has only been more than a week since I started and I am already feeling overwhelmed. But it is a good feeling, like when you are working out and your muscles are burning yet you feel like you have more energy than you did before starting. Isn’t life wonderful? 🙂

Author: Aira Mallapre

Aira, a dreamer by day and crammer by night, has been singing out of tune since 1995.

Leave a Reply

